News

The Beardsley Award

This Award seeks to select those individuals who have made a meritorious contribution to the technology of potato processing in relation to crisps, french fries, flakes, granules or any other type of food consisting largely of potatoes.

The winner of the Award receives a sum of money and a copy of the trophy as a permanent memento.

The Award was instituted by Mr Geoffrey B. Beardsley (former chairman of Meredith & Drew, a company now incorporated into Walkers Crisps/Pepsico) on his retirement in 1974. The Award has been granted nine times to:

- 1974 IBVL, Wageningen, The Netherlands,
- 1975 Dr G. Adler, Pfanni Werke, Munich, Germany,
- 1977 Dr T.P. Ferguson, United Biscuits, UK,
- 1979 Ir J.C. Hesen, IBVL, Wageningen, The Netherlands,
- 1984 Dipl.Ing. H.H. Zweifel, Zweifel Pomy Chips, Switzerland,
- 1985 Mr L. Dolfing, Aviko BV, The Netherlands,
- 1993 Mr J. Brueder, Flodor SA, France,
- 1993 Mr N. Hazeldine, Walkers Crisps, UK,
- 1996 Dr G. Kluge, former Pfanni Werke, Munich, Germany, now food processing consultant, Eggstaat, Germany.

The person to receive the Award is dediced by majority vote of the Board of the Beardsley Foundation. Its members are: Ir J.C.F. Rynja (Chairman), former director IBVL, Wageningen, The Netherlands; Ir J. Hak (Treasurer), chairman GMV, Zoetermeer, The Netherlands, sponsor of the Beardsley Award, and the following members Prof.Dr F. Escher, chairman FNK Potato Processors, Dr M.J. Kirkman, chairman EAPR's section Utilization, and Dr J. Vessey, chairman ESA Potato Working Group.

Anyone wishing to nominate a candidate is asked to write to the Board of the Beardsley Award Foundation, P.O. Box 20, 6700 AA Wageningen, The Netherlands, before 1 September 1997, giving the candidate's name, qualifications and the grounds on which the nomination is made.

Ir J.C.F. Rynja, Chairman